Odds & Ends – June 3, 2023

Again today 100 degrees. Maybe 101. Who knows? I was having fun baling hay, so couldn’t stand around watching the weather station thermometer.


graphx: spwilcen

If this is a pattern, we’re in for a world of hurt. This is June wearing a diaper. We have July to look forward to. Ohboyohboy! Then August. August in these parts takes “dog days” to a new level. Heat. Humidity. Antiperspirant failures. Gallons and gallons of iced tea.

Yupper. If this is what we’re in for, by the time September folds itself into October, shoveling snow will sound pretty sexy.

Added a Calipers, Blades, and Mallets piece. If you want to take a peek, you’ll have to click the link. That’s the way the game is played.

Published by spwilcen

Retired career IT software engineer, or as we were called in the old days, programmer, it's time to empty my file cabinet of all the "creative" writing accumulated over the years - toss most of it, salvage and publish what is worthwhile.

12 thoughts on “Odds & Ends – June 3, 2023

    1. Ah, my man, gaze eastward, beyond Chicago, across the tall lake past Sleeping Bear Dunes, toward the former megalopolis of Detroit. The plains of the upper Midwest, farm country, rural in all respects would by many be called my home today. Here, where the formative years of my late youth were wasted. Wisely, I let the USAF lead me to the world at large. Unwisely let a young man’s romantic misunderstandings lure me back. Wisely let an unscrupulous megacomputer vendor’s promises lead me back out of this hell to calm and sunny southern climes. Sadly, I have returned after forced retirement to protect my significant other in the event of my untimely (but looming, as I’ve incurred great physical debt for my past lifestyle) checking-out. It is not hell. Well, sort-of not hell. Sort of, maybe okay. Say, Bub, thanks for stopping by. Take care over there in Cheeseland.

      Like

    1. Few places I’ve been in my travels that I’ve not enjoyed in some way, found something to really like. We are experiencing a rugged hot and dry spell right now. For it being this early in “summer” it suggests a hot one. Glomal Warning or no, we’ve had terribly hot [ I recall from my youth] and incredibly humid [pre -/C sissy days, you know] and to boot mosquitoes big enough to saddle and ride. Home is home. The overriding sales-point is friends and family.

      Thanks for stopping by this morning. Hope you have a lovely day.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Never been to Espana, but have been to Italy’s Amalfi Coast and it was delightful The ocean and it’s breezes, I think. Maybe just the attitude one cannot help but embrace.

      Looks like another hot one here again today. Service tours taught me how to handle heat. It’s the lack of rain that will be telling here. Farmers will soon suffer drops in yield for early development missed. Yards are yellow, turning to browns.

      Hope your weekend is most pleasant. Thanks for dropping by.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome Espie, a pleasure. Hope you do get some rain. We were suffering a huge fraught here too but last week the rains started and seemingly the water reserves have been filled. And it is not as hot as usual at this time of the year… well, enjoy your Sunday and all the best.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Um today, I’m not sure. I know 95 at two in the afternoon, but I was having so much fun with chores I never checked the momothermter again. Cooler this evening and the backyard fence gossip is that while no rain, it will be cooler than the last few days. Finners crosst.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment