Abject Failure – February 26, 2022


Graphix: spwilcen

Once again, the piece I’ve been working on, scheduled for yesterday, delayed to today, has not come together the way I want.  It is touchy subject matter.  If ever published, all three of my followers will raise serious legitimate issues. There will be a circus of left-field comments from trolls, off-subject soapboxing by crackpots, and condescending tirades from folk with a penchant for taking a single word and running off to Weirdsville. 

That would be entertaining. But it’s not what I’m after.  Not the reason for the doomed post.

The genesis of the post is that lately my WP reader has been trying to tell me something.  Or I have been interpreting its feeds incorrectly.  The preponderance of suggested sites focuses on spirituality or some religion.  These run the gamut from well-known organized religions of both hemispheres, through guidance to help you get your juju or mojo right, to obscure fetishes parading as religion or spirituality.

Fine.  I change “suggested” topics for my perverted reader.  This gets me a better result.  Still, every third, fourth, or fifth site offers to put me in touch with a religion which will make my world right, answer my prayers, and guarantee my socks match every morning. Or it will regale me with someone’s personal religious experience that will accomplish any or all of that.  And more!

So, this put me to thinking.  Why this religious overload?  I missed the memo?  Life is all about religion? Are we that fearful as a society?  That “lost”?  The ill-fated post is a loaded existential query.  So-o-o many will read two or three lines, be offended, go ballistic and miss the whole point.

I don’t need it.  Don’t want it. I’ll settle for my reader suggesting sites focused on doggies and kitties, cooking encyclopedias, health and wellness hustles, blatant sales pitch platforms, DIY anything, and for lunch I had sorghum pasta right after I cleaned up where Charlemagne of Waldroon wee-weed on my oriental carpet.  I need only convince my reader to…

“Search anything but NOT religion.”

Meanwhile, the intended post molders.

Published by spwilcen

Retired career IT software engineer, or as we were called in the old days, programmer, it's time to empty my file cabinet of all the "creative" writing accumulated over the years - toss most of it, salvage and publish what is worthwhile.

14 thoughts on “Abject Failure – February 26, 2022

  1. Love God, love your neighbor. The rest is commentary,
    I’m in the middle of year three of a four-year course offered by a university known for turning out Episcopalian priests. Not that I am intending to become a man of the cloth. My takeaway so far is that one should be comfortable with one’s own mortality. If one feels like a particular practice is good for them, fine. Just be respectful of the next person. Don’t assume that the next person will find your practice is good for them, too. We appear to have lost that respect – at least that’s what it seems like these days. As far as what you hesitate to post, I’m game. I like to listen to others’ stories, no matter what they are. I may see what you write as quite insightful, or I may see it as total garbage. It’s likely to be the former.
    Your insights so far have been the reason I keep coming back to your ramblings.

    Be Seeing You!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well gosh, thanks, I guess. Likely that post will be further delayed. Not all out there in browserland are open-minded as you [and I] are. Many sharpen their axes, to be ready to charge after someone after stumbling across the first word they think insults them, never finishing [and therefore never understanding] a piece. Glad you dropped a comment. It is, with all else, heartening. And say, when are you going to plunk down another piece?

      Like

Leave a comment